Top Products
Follow Us On Social Media

Silk City, Virtual Self, Disclosure, more receive Grammy nods in electronic dance categories

Music’s biggest night is fast approaching and the 2019 Grammy nominations have officially been released.

Hip-hop dominates the Record of the Year category, with Cardi B, Drake, Childish Gambino, Kendrick Lamar, and Post Malone taking up five of the seven artist hopefuls. Overall, Kendrick Lamar leads with eight nods, Drake follows closely with seven, and Childish Gambino earns five nods. Women also dominated on the whole, with Lady Gaga and Cardi B each earning five nods.

While music’s most coveted award show doesn’t televise electronic dance music’s portion of the ceremony, the academy does now honor the genre in two categories. Included in the list of nominated hopefuls for Best Dance/Electronic Album is Jon Hopkins, Justice, SOFI TUKKER, SOPHIE, and TOKiMONSTA.

Best Dance Record hopefuls include Above and Beyond for their Richard Bedford-assisted single, “Northern Soul,” which came out on their Common Ground LP released this past spring. Disclosure also received a nod for a track from their week-long slew of releases this year: “Ultimatum,” featuring Fatoumata Diawara. Elon Musk’s favorite track of the year was also nominated by way of Fisher‘s “Losing It.” Diplo and Mark Ronson’s Silk City collaboration with Dua Lipa, “Losing It,” also made the list, while Porter Robinson received his first Grammy nod for Virtual Self‘s “Ghost Voices.”

The 61st annual Grammy Awards are set to take place February 10, 2019. View the full list of nominations below.

Album Of The Year

Cardi B – Invasion Of Privacy
Brandi Carlile – By The Way, I Forgive You
Drake – Scorpion
H.E.R. – H.E.R.
Post Malone – Beer Bongs & Bentleys
Janelle Monáe – Dirty Computer
Kacey Musgraves – Golden Hour
Various Artists – Black Panther: The Album, Music From And Inspired By

Record Of The Year

Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin – “I Like It”
Brandi Carlile – “The Joke”
Childish Gambino – “This Is America”
Drake – “God’s Plan”
Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper – “Shallow”
Kendrick Lamar & SZA – “All The Stars”
Post Malone – “Rockstar” (feat. 21 Savage)

Best New Artist

Chloe x Halle
Luke Combs
Greta Van Fleet
Dua Lipa
Margo Price
Bebe Rexha
Jorja Smith

Best Dance Recording

Above & Beyond – “Northern Soul” (feat. Richard Bedford)
Disclosure – “Ultimatum” (feat. Fatoumata Diawara)
Fisher – “Losing It”
Silk City & Dua Lipa – “Electricity”
Virtual Self – “Ghost Voices”

Best Dance/Electronic Album

Jon Hopkins – Singularity
Justice – Woman Worldwide
Sofi Tukker – Treehouse
SOPHIE – Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides
TOKiMONSTA – Lune Rouge

Best Rap Performance

Cardi B – “Be Careful”
Drake – “Nice For What”
Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future & James Blake – “King’s Dead”
Anderson .Paak – “Bubblin”
Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk & Swae Lee – “Sicko Mode”

Best Rap/Sung Performance

Christina Aguilera – “Like I Do” (feat. Goldlink)
6lack – “Pretty Little Fears” (feat. J. Cole)
Childish Gambino – “This Is America”
Kendrick Lamar & SZA – “All The Stars”
Post Malone – “Rockstar” (feat. 21 Savage)

Best Rap Song

Drake – “Scorpion”
Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future & James Blake – “King’s Dead”
Eminem – “Lucky You” (feat. Joyner Lucas)
Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk & Swae Lee – “Sicko Mode”
Jay Rock – “Win”

Best Rap Album

Cardi B – Invasion Of Privacy
Mac Miller – Swimming
Nipsey Hussle – Victory Lap
Pusha T – Daytona
Travis Scott – Astroworld

Best Urban Contemporary Album

The Carters – Everything Is Love
Chloe x Halle – The Kids Are Alright
Chris Dave And The Drumhedz – Chris Dave And The Drumhedz
Miguel – War & Leisure
Meshell Ndegeocello – Ventriloquism

Best R&B Song

Ella Mai – “Boo’d Up”
Miguel – “Come Through And Chill” (feat. J. Cole & Salaam Remi)
Childish Gambino – “Feels Like Summer”
H.E.R. – “Focus”
Toni Braxton – “Long As I Live”

Best R&B Performance

Toni Braxton – “Long As I Live”
The Carters – “Summer”
Lalah Hathaway – “Y O Y”
H.E.R. – “Best Part” (feat. Daniel Caesar)
PJ Morton – “First Began”

Best Pop Solo Performance

Beck – “Colors”
Camila Cabello – “Havana (Live)”
Ariana Grande – “God Is A Woman”
Lady Gaga – “Joanne (Where Do You Think You’re Goin’?)”
Post Malone – “Better Now”

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

Christina Aguilera – “Fall In Line” (feat. Demi Lovato)
Backstreet Boys – “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart”
Tony Bennett & Diana Krall – “‘S Wonderful”
Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper – “Shallow”
Maroon 5 – “Girls Like You” (feat. Cardi B)
Justin Timberlake – “Say Something” (feat. Chris Stapleton)
Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey – “The Middle”

Best Alternative Music Album

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino
Beck – Colors
Björk – Utopia
David Byrne – American Utopia
St. Vincent – Masseduction

Best Producer Of The Year (Non-Classical)

Larry Klein
Linda Perry
Kanye West
Pharrell Williams

Best Music Video

The Carters – “Apes***”
Childish Gambino – “This Is America”
Joyner Lucas – “I’m Not Racist”
Janelle Monáe – “PYNK”
Tierra Whack – “MUMBO JUMBO”