Top Products
Follow Us On Social Media

Prepare for EPROM and Alix Perez’s debut LP as SHADES on Deadbeats with second track release, ‘Guillotine’

In what has been referred to as a “bass assassin dream team” in SHADES, the duetted moniker of EPROM and Alix Perez have long been preparing for their debut studio LP, In Praise of Darkness. The 12-track album, which now sees it’s release July 13 via Deadbeats Records, is chocked full of gravity-distorting experimental bass and head-turning percussive cuts.

In preparation for the LP release, SHADES have been steadily teasing tracks that play with the limbic system in “The Saga” and now in “Guillotine.” Equally as dark in moniker as its precursor, “Guillotine” further sets the tone for the album epitomizing the experimental nature of the project.

In Praise of Darkness is the manifestation of what happens when two deep-minded folks on opposing coasts meld their creativity together.  Intriguing and unrivaled in quality, the album is indicative of what bass music has been missing — including varying sounds and tempos, imperious bass lines, and, not to mention, a vocal feature from one of UK urban music’s most sought after voices, Killa P.

To mark album’s release, SHADES will also be embarking on a world-wide headlining tour beginning in North America this July.


In Praise of Darkness Tracklist

1. Threnody

2. Faultline

3. The Saga

4. Geryon

5. Guillotine

6. Alarma ft Killa P

7. Nullifier

8. Algor Mortis

9. Sickle

10. Kolumbo

11. Chains

12. Back And Forth


8th July – Chicago – Logan Square Auditorium

11th July – Seattle – Q Nightclub

12th July – Portland – Bossanova

13th July – Denver – Black Box

14th July – Vancouver – Red Room

18th July – Santa Cruz – Catalyst

19th July – San Francisco – 1015 Folsom

20th July – Los Angeles – Bassrush

21st July – Quebec – Valhalla Sound Circus

25th July – Washington, D.C. – Soundcheck

26th July – Virginia Beach – Peabody’s

27th July – Greenville – The Firmament

28th July – Brooklyn – The Paper Box