After announcing their third studio album in SOLACE, unveiling a 17-date North American fall tour, and releasing the LP’s leading single in “No Place,” RÜFÜS DU SOL are waist deep in making their return to world of ethereal indie-electronic. Today the Aussie trio gave fans another taste of their forthcoming album with a second release, titled “Underwater.”

The track clocks in a nearly six-minutes, beginning with mid-tempo beat work, calm atmospheres, and a kick snare undergirding lead singer Tyrone Lindqvist’s distinctive vocals. A welcoming deep house bass line grounds the track, with low pitched synths giving the track it’s forward momentum, and tribal chorus lines strewn throughout to offer up a world appeal. Cinematic in it’s construction and euphoric in it’s effect on listeners, the track represents a sonic journey spanning time and distances, painting a picture of where RÜFÜS has been and where they are planning to go in their next work.


Written by Ryan Morse

Information seeker. Dog lover. Ph.D. drop out. I'm probably at Bassnectar.