Top Products
Follow Us On Social Media
Lettuce, Break Science, & Big G members' jazz supergroup BTTRFLY Quintet unveil debut LP, 'Coast'

Introducing BTTRFLY Quintet: Lettuce, Big G, & Break Science members unveil jazz supergroup with debut LP, ‘Coast’

BTTRFLY Quintet hails the coming-together of a number of high-profile touring funk, jazz, soul, and electronic musicians and producers from Denver, Colorado.

Comprised of Grammy-winning Lettuce trumpeter Eric “Benny” Bloom, Grammy-nominated Lettuce drummer Adam DeitchBreak Science bassist/visual artist Hunter Roberts, Big Gigantic producer/saxophonist Dominic Lalli, and Pretty Lights/Break Science collaborator Borahm Lee, the supergroup began playing for thirty-seven people in a COVID-restricted Cervantes Ballroom. The five-piece has since fledged its wings with performances at Florida’s Branquility Festival and Denver’s Meow Wolf

Now the supergroup releases their anticipated debut record, Coast, a ten-track package via Mocean Records that satisfies the group’s collective love for adventurous, improvisational, futuristic soul-jazz. Featuring warm, raw production and a rich world of affected instrumental timbres, the record’s sound sits between being reminiscent of classic funk/soul records of the 1970s as well as something undeniably, excitingly modern.

Fans got their first taste of Coast with the album’s self-titled lead single. With playful, subtle musicianship in the spotlight, the song perfectly captures the feel and energy of witnessing an air-tight rhythm section in a live setting. Next was “Buried Treasure,” yet another showcase of the group’s lavish, genre-fusing, instrumental mastery. With dark, looming synth tones and complex, syncopated drum patterns bleeding into vibrant horn and organ playing, the song evocatively establishes a mysterious mood.

The rest of the Coast tracklist is similarly expressive. Melodic horn lines, rich harmony, experienced funk songwriting, and immersive improvisations take the listener on a dynamic and well-crafted journey, shepherded along by a wealth of satisfying, danceable grooves.

BTTRFLY Quintet showcased Coast‘s elegant musical colors during their Album Release Party at Ophelia’s Electric Soapbox, Denver, CO.

While this may be the first time the world has heard from BTTRFLY Quintet, many will be familiar with the output of its five prolific members. Alongside their main projects, the group boasts an impressive collective resume of Grammy nods and wins, alongside credits with everyone from New Orleans piano legend Jon Clearly to global superstars such as Kool & The Gang, Solange, Run DMC, Lee “Scratch” Perry, Dave Matthews Band, and Lauryn Hill.

Stream the full Coast LP, out now on Mocean Records, below.

BTTRFLY Quintet – Coast LP

Follow BTTRFLY Quintet :

Facebook | SoundCloud | Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube

Follow Conscious Electronic:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | Spotify | Pinterest | Tiktok