Top Products
Follow Us On Social Media

Flume announces ‘Palaces’ LP + premieres first original since 2020 in ‘Say Nothing’ with MAY-A

Photo credit: Nick Green.

“Say Nothing” is the lead single from Flume’s third studio album, featuring Damon Albarn, Oklou, Kučka, and more.

We live in an increasingly divisive world. Nowhere is this seen more, in fact, than in the cynical division of music fans along imaginary genre lines. However, if there’s one thing dance music fans from across the spectrum can agree upon, it’s Flume. After signaling 2022 would be the year of his return to releasing new music, Flume just this week announced the world premiere of “Saying Nothing”—his first original music since his Hi This Is Flume mixtape.

Now the Australian musical juggernaut has just wrapped the live release of the futuristic anthem, featuring MAY-A, that critics and fans are already comparing to Flume’s megahit “Rushing Back” with Vera Blue. The world premiere of “Say Nothing” comes with the song’s official music video. Perhaps most exciting to come of the day, the premiere couples with the announcement of his newest studio album, Palaces, slated for release on May 20 via Future Classic and Transgressive.

Speaking to the track, Flume said the following in a press statement:

“This song is about feelings of post relationship clarity. We wrote the song midway through 2020 while the pandemic was still pretty new. I was really excited about the initial idea but it was only once I got back to Australia in early 2021 and linked up in the studio with May-A that the song really came to life.”

– Flume

The 13-track record will feature a stunning list of high-powered collaborations, including Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn, UK’s LAUREL, and stateside songstress Caroline Polachek. The list reads more like an “Around the World” trek through music when you add to that more globe-trotting contributions: Spain’s Vergen Maria, France’s Oklou, and fellow Aussies Emma Louise, and long-time Flume collaborator Kučka.

The new album is inspired by Australia’s flora and fauna, Flume told Australia’s Triple J in an exclusive interview on Palaces. Flume said the LP began to come together after his return home to the mainland from Los Angeles at the start of the pandemic. While living in a town along Australia’s NSW coast, Flume found himself reconnecting with nature and finding deep inspiration there.

“I called it Palaces because I felt like when I returned home… It felt like my palace. Felt like I had a lot of clarity, felt much more grounded, living a really simple life. That’s when all the music came together.”

– Flume

Watch the world premiere of “Say Nothing” with MAY-A now. Fast forward to the eleven-and-a-half-minute mark to see Flume up to his usually unusual shenanigans. Also, check out Palaces’ full tracklisting below, where Flume will be playing out these tracks at Bonnaroo, Governors Ball, and a much-delayed Coachella this April.

More information on the album, along with merchandise, can be found on Flume’s landing page.

Flume – Say Nothing ft. MAY-A (Live Premiere)

Flume – Say Nothing ft. MAY-A (Music Video)

Flume – Say Nothing ft. MAY-A

Palaces Tracklist

  1. Flume – Highest Building [ft. Oklou]
  2. Flume – Say Nothing [ft. May-A]
  3. Flume – DHLC
  4. Flume, Quiet Bison – Escape [ft. Kučka]
  5. Flume – I Can’t Tell [ft. Laurel]
  6. Flume – Get U
  7. Flume – Jasper’s Song
  8. Flume – Only Fans
  9. Flume – Hollow [ft. Emma Louise]
  10. Flume – Love Light
  11. Flume – Sirens [ft. Caroline Polachek]
  12. Flume – Go
  13. Flume – Palaces [ft. Damon Albarn]

Follow Flume:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | YouTube

Follow Conscious Electronic:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | Spotify | Pinterest | Tiktok