Top Products
Follow Us On Social Media

Swedish producer Kasbo releases two singles ahead of sophomore album

Photo credit: Olof Grind.

Following two releases of his forthcoming sophomore album, “Play Pretend” and “Show You,” Swedish producer and electronic artist Kasbo returns with the third teaser and double single drop ahead of his eagerly awaited sophomore album, The Making of a Paracosm. “Staying In Love,” featuring Nea, and “Skogsrå” demonstrate Kasbo’s versatility as a musician, constantly reimagining his signature sound with fresh collaborations and complex, textured melody swells that demand attention.

Drawing on inspiration from jungle, ambient, lo-fi, pop music, and Kasbo’s more classic sound, “Staying In Love'” combines heartfelt lyrics about the inevitability of fading love, and the even stronger desire to hold onto passion within a relationship, complemented by varied high-energy beats, genre-blending riffs, and strong vocal support from fellow Swedish singer-songwriter Nea. Kasbo and Nea have collaborated in the past on 2017’s “Bleed It Out,” making their newest collaboration a welcomed reunion and a nod to their maturing soundscapes over the years. Kasbo had the following to say of the track:

“I wasn’t originally having this one on the album,” says Kaso in a press release. “I went to Stockholm for a few weeks to wrap up the last parts of the album, recording vocals, etc. Me and Linnea (Nea) hung out there and she convinced me that I needed to try to make it work for the album even though I was in the final mixing step for the other tunes. I’m insanely happy she did because this is one of my favorite tracks on the album. The heartfelt lyrics about the inevitability of love fading, the melodies, and everything is just so strong and moving. I pushed myself really hard to make this song feel like something unique production-wise.”

Kasbo – Staying In Love ft. Nea

Heavily influenced by Kasbo’s Swedish roots, “Skogsrå” is a reference to Scandinavian folklore. Known to many as “the guardian of the forest,” the beautiful and alluring Skogsrå has been said to steal the soul of confident explorers, slowly turning their intrigue and trust into uneasiness and introversion until they become lost to the woods forever. Distorted synths and shifted vocals create an exhilarating and edgy composition, playing heavily into Kasbo’s strengths as a lauded electronic music producer.

“I was in a bit of a dry spell when I made Skogsrå,” continues Kasbo. “I remember deciding that I had to make a song a day, to stop overthinking the music and lose the pressure of every song I made needing to be perfect or ideal for the album. I think I made Skogsrå on day 4, and it’s the most polarizing and unconventional song I’ve made to date. It’s so aggressive and ravey in such a fun and cool way and different from anything I’ve heard.”

Echoing the mythical message of the Skogsrå, listeners will find themselves lost in the track as they would if enchanted by the fabled spirit. Creatures such as the Skogsrå offer another look into the impactfulness that Swedish storytelling had on Kasbo throughout his upbringing, and provides additional insight into the elements that have shaped his own paracosm.

The Making of a Paracosm, set to release on October 23 via Foreign Family Collective and Counter Records.

Kasbo – Skogsrå

The Making of a Paracosm Tracklist:

  1. The Making of a Paracosm
  2. Play Pretend (feat. Ourchives)
  3. Shut the World Out (feat. Frida Sundemo)
  4. Blur
  5. För Evigt (feat. Florian Rosetti)
  6. Talk Slow (feat. Noomi)
  7. Augusti, 05:19 (Interlude)
  8. Vittra
  9. Lune (feat. Vancouver Sleep Clinic)
  10. Skogsrå
  11. Hemma
  12. Staying in Love (feat. Nea)
  13. Show You
  14. Snö (feat. Freja The Dragon)

Follow Kasbo:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Spotify | Soundcloud | YouTube

Follow Conscious Electronic:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | Spotify | Pinterest